In ancient China, dynasties changed quite frequently. Due to the special political system, few dynasties can last more than three or four hundred years, and many of them are only a few years old, or even less than a year. Here is an inventory of the top ten dynasties with the shortest rule of china.
Ten Dynasties With The Shortest Rule Of China

Dashun Dynasty (1644-1645)

The regime was established in Xi’an by the leader of the famous peasant army “Li Zicheng” at the end of the Ming Dynasty. Dashun first took Xi’an as a Beijing division and then moved to Beijing. The territory once covered many provinces in the Central Plains. In the 17th year of Chongzhen, Li Zicheng became the emperor, and his country was named Dashun. In May, Li Zicheng died in Nanjiugongshan, Tongshan County, Hubei. In less than one year, the Dashun regime was replaced by the Qing soldiers. It is one of the shortest-lived dynasties in Chinese history.

Xuanhan Dynasty (23-25 years)

It is a political power that emerged after the New Dynasty in Chinese history. It is also called Xuanhan Dynasty and was established by the Western Han Dynasty’s royal family, Liu Xuan. The Xuan Han inherited the new dynasty and started the Eastern Han Dynasty. It nominally unified most of the territory in the late Western Han Dynasty. Since Liu Xuanwan was ruled as the emperor in 23 AD, until the Red Eyebrow Army invaded Chang’an in 25 AD, Liu Xuan was killed after the surrender, and the Xuan and Han regimes were destroyed. Xuan Han pioneered the success of the former imperial clan in the history of centralization in China to successfully recapture the regime, but due to Liu Xuan’s mediocrity and incompetence, he could only end in failure.

Ran Wei Dynasty (350-352)

During the period of the Sixteen Kingdoms, the regime established by the Han Chinese Ran Min was only 2 years old. In 350 AD, Ran Min killed Hou Zhao ’s monarch Shi Jian while the Hou Zhao political situation was chaotic. He seized Hou Zhao ’s power and became emperor. Ran Min massacred the Hu people during his reign, and even many Han people were brutally murdered, which aroused the strong resistance of the Hu people. In 352 AD, Ran Min was defeated and beheaded by the former Yan monarch Murong Jun, and the Ran Wei regime was declared dead.

Hou Han Dynasty (947-950)

During the period of the Five Dynasties and the Ten Kingdoms, it was built by Liu Zhiyuan, the envoy of the Jin Dynasty, and the capital city was Kaifeng, Tokyo. The state was 3 years old. In 947 AD, Liu Zhiyuan was named emperor in Taiyuan, with Han as the country’s title, history as the post-Han, and the world as the post-Han Gaozu. In 950 AD, the Emperor Hidden Emperor of the Han Dynasty murdered former ministers Yang Yang, Shi Hongzhao, Wang Zhang, etc., and conspired to murder Guo Wei who guarded the capital. Guo Wei heard the news, and then raised his troops to resist, led the army to kill Ben Liang, Han Yin Emperor was killed by the defeat of the army, and then Han died. It took less than four years since the founding of Han Dynasty and its destruction. It experienced 2 emperors and was the shortest-lived regime in the Five Dynasties and Ten Countries.

Hou Zhou Dynasty (951-960)

One of the Ten Dynasties of the Five Dynasties and the last Central Plains Dynasty of the Five Dynasties. It was established by Han after Guo Wei’s annihilation and the capital of Kaifeng, Tokyo. In 950 AD, Guo Wei was forced to rebel because of the suspicion of the Emperor of the Han Dynasty. The following year, he became the emperor, and changed to Guangshun in Yuan Dynasty. In 960, the famous “Chen Qiaoyi mutiny” took place. Hou Zhou had almost no resistance. Emperor Zhou Gongchen was located in Zhao Kuangyin, and the Northern Song Dynasty was born. Hou Zhou enjoyed the country for 10 years and went through three emperors. The “little whirlwind” Chai Jin in the Water Margin was the descendant of the late emperor.

Hou Jin Dynasty (936-947)

The dynasty of the Twenty-Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms period was established by Shi Jinglian. It was initially settled in Luoyang and later moved to Kaifeng. In 936 AD, Shi Jinglian colluded with Khitan and recognized the Lord of Khitan Yaludekwang as the father, and at the expense of Youyun 16 states, he became the emperor in Taiyuan with the support of Khitan, changed the heavenly blessing, and was called Hou Jin in history. After Shi Jinglian’s death, he was passed on to his nephew, Shi Chonggui, because he had no children. In 947, Khitan went south for the third time, and Hou Jinzhong’s Du Chongwei rebelled and lowered Khitan, Hou Jin’s main force was lost. Shi Jinglian’s nephew, Shi Chonggui, surrendered and was captured. Later Jin had a total of 2 emperors and 12 years in the state.

Nanyan Dynasty (398-410)

During the period of the Sixteen Kingdoms, it was built by Murongde and built a sliding platform. In 398 AD, the Northern Wei Dynasty broke through Zhongshan, and Houyan was cut into two parts. Murongde took advantage of the 40,000 southward migration platform, known as the King of Yan and Nanyan in history. In 409 AD, Liu Yu of the Eastern Jin Dynasty led a northern expedition, and the following year Guanggu fell and Nanyan died. Nan Yan enjoyed the country for 12 years and experienced 2 emperors. The last emperor was Murong Chao. Historians refer to him as the Lord of the South Yan, and at the same time, he was the last emperor from the Xianbei Murong Department during the period of the Wuhu and Sixteen Kingdoms.

Qin Dynasty (221-207 BC)

The Qin Dynasty was the first centrally centralized dynasty in Chinese history, and it was also an extremely short-lived dynasty. It was originally the Qin Kingdom during the Warring States Period. After Qin Wangzheng took power, he swept Liuhe and completed the great cause of reunification. In 221 BC, Xunzheng called the emperor “Qin Shihuang”, implying that the dynasty was endless, and the famous Qin dynasty was born. In 210 BC, Emperor Qin Shihuang died of the dunes, and his son Hu Hai was enthroned, and the dynasty went from bad to worse. Uprisings continued. It eventually died in 207 BC, during which there were 2 emperors and 14 years in the kingdom.

New Mang Dynasty (8-23 years)

The short-lived dynasty that was born of the “Wang Man usurped the Han” incident during the Western Han Dynasty. Since the Western Han Dynasty, Emperor Liu’s power has gradually fallen into the hands of the Wang’s foreign relative group with Emperor Xiaoyuan and Wang Zhengjun as the core, and Wang Mang has entered the stage of history ever since. He abolished Han Yingzi, Liu Ying, as An Dinggong in 8 AD, changed the country name to new, and built the capital Chang’an (now Xi’an Han Chang’an City Ruins). Until 23 AD, due to the failure of Wang Mang’s reform, the new dynasty was overthrown by the Green Forest Army and the dynasty was overthrown. A total of 1 emperor, 15 years in the country.

Sui Dynasty (581-619)

Regardless of whether it was established or destroyed, the dynasty is very similar to the Qin Dynasty-Sui Dynasty. It ended the nearly 300-year-long division since the end of the Western Jin Dynasty and completed the reunification of China. From 581 AD, Yang insisted on emperor, and his country was named “Sui”. Until 619 AD, Emperor Tai Yang was dismissed by Wang Shichong. In the meantime, the Sui Dynasty was prosperous for the National Games and had a well-known rule of emperor. It carried out many reforms in the fields of politics, economy, culture and diplomacy. However, due to the Emperor Sui’s great joy, poor soldiers, and the construction of the Grand Canal, the national power was seriously depleted, and mutiny and rebellion continued in many places. The Sui Dynasty eventually died, and the country was 38 years old.